Dear Lupus

Dear Lupus,

UGH!

Why must you wreak havoc on my hair? As if my body doesn’t suffer enough beatings from you, you had to go and pick on my hair too? Why must the gentle stroke of my hair from my brush turn into fit of hair fall?

My bathroom is nicely decorated with zebra print and zebra fur rugs and I don’t necessarily think that the large amounts and black and brown clumps of hair laid out sporadically adds to the pizzazz.

Dear Lupus,

Single strands, hair balls, clumps of hair…. it’s a never ending thing. Must I experience so much hair loss? At this point I am practically bald!

The scalp at the center of my head is as clean as the inside of my hand. It’s so embarrassing!

BUMMER!

FB_IMG_1496617183661
image from the lupus awareness Facebook page

Dear Lupus,

Could you make room for my hair to grow back so that I won’t have to walk in shame?

Could you make room for my hair to grown back so that I won’t have to walk in fear?

So that I won’t have to live in paranoia that someone would notice that the hair piece I am sporting today is really not my own, but in fact a wig?

Could you make room for my hair to grow so that I won’t feel self conscious about the next individual who has to touch my hair?

Dear Lupus,

I would love to have ALL of the hair you stole from me. I would love every strand you’ve ever forced to break off and exit my hair shaft! I would like every hair ball, hair clump and bit of hair that has ever left my head to return back to me.

Signed, 

NB 

Leave a Reply

