Home, What Is Lupus?

Stylish Lupus Chick

“You don’t look sick!”

“You’re too pretty to have such a life threatening illness!”

“Why don’t you have the rashes?”

“You can’t go out and have fun!”

-Says everyone I come in contact with when they discover I have lupus.

And it drives me crazy!

 

UGH!!!!

Don’t you just hate when people live by stereotypes? Like are you really telling me that I do not have an illness because I don’t look the part?

That is completely absurd!

Must I mope around all day? Would rolling around in a bulky wheelchair suffice? Do I have to have a handicap sticker planted on my license plate or hanging from my rear view mirror?

Or…

Would taking stylish selfies in my hospital bed with an IV in arm be better? Must I take a photo of the multi-sized pills I have been prescribed to take daily in order to allow me to successfully make through each day?

 

 

Lupus has taken away my long healthy hair, so I cut it into a stylish new cut.

Lupus took away my perfect vision, so I accessorized my eyes with stylish new frames.

I choose not to let the “L” word define me.

I choose to go about my day and my life as normal as possible.

I choose to go against all odds. 

I choose to stylishly work my way through this life altering disease.

Signed yours truly,

The Purple ‘Stylish‘ Butterfly 

2 thoughts on “Stylish Lupus Chick”

Leave a Reply

