Home

Lupus: The Struggle Is Real!

Man, this month has been an extremely trying month. It has literally been one thing after another after another. And I can openly admit that I am legit STRUGGLING!

Struggling to find the inspiration to blog. Struggling to force up a smile. Struggling to remove stress from my life. Struggling to figure out my plan B after my plan A fell through. Struggling all together as a whole.

But don’t you just hate it when people urge you to ’embrace the struggle’?

I know I do!

My response to those people…

How about you step into my shoes and live with a chronic illness for a day. How about knowing what a great struggle it is JUST to get out of bed because your joints have locked up and it hurts like hell to do anything other than lie helplessly in bed. Or how about you struggle to do simple tasks such as making up your bed and washing the dishes when you’ve slept for more than 8 hours and still feel like you’re about to kill over due to lupus fatigue. Want to talk about “embracing the struggle?” I haven’t even begun to explain HOW MUCH of a struggle it is to live this way.

It is a struggle to make myself understood. Everyday is a power struggle. Will I win today? Or will I surrender to the lupus?

But in the midst of the struggle, I am reminded of a scripture in the bible that assures me that all of my suffering will not be in vain. It assures me that my suffering breathes endurance, it breathes character and in the end, breathes HOPE.

I am hopeful that things will get better.

Romans 5: 3-5
“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame…”

So in the end, I guess I can say that maybe those people are right. Maybe I have to lighten up. Maybe ’embracing the struggle’ might not be such a bad thing after all.

Struggle

2 thoughts on “Lupus: The Struggle Is Real!”

Leave a Reply

