Home

You Have Lupus? Prepare To…

So you just learned that you have lupus. What do you do? Who do you tell? What’s next?

I recently stumbled across an awesome blog post that I thought would be perfect for preparing new lupies of  what to expect after diagnosis. I believe this would have been of a great help to me had I found it earlier.

Image taken from http://www.linkedin.com

Sooooo, with that being said, I have added just a few things for the newly diagnosed individuals to prepare for. BUT be sure to read Sabrina Nixon’s full post here.

When diagnosed with lupus you should prepare to:

  1. Prepare for countless doctor/hospital visits- Being misdiagnosed in the beginning is normal because your symptoms may mimic other disorders.
  2. Prepared for tedious medication regimens- You will be subject to taking various medications. Immunosuppressants  may be prescribed as well as corticosteroids.
  3. Prepare for life alterations- Before being diagnosed, I led a pretty active lifestyle. I frequented the beach and enjoyed the Miami night life with friends. BUT I can no longer be in extreme heat OR direct sunlight as it triggers a flare.
Leave a Reply

