Home, What Is Lupus?

Lupus And Your Brain

For more than a few months now I have been experiencing really BAD memory loss. I am LOSING  MY MIND literally! I can be doing something and then get sidetracked for a few seconds and completely forget what I was saying or doing.

For instance, the other day I yelled at my son because I THOUGHT I asked him to do something for me. When he didn’t do it, I got upset. HOWEVER, he explained to me that I did not ask him to do anything. In fact, I didn’t say anything to him at all.

Oh, and let’s not forget about Wednesday. I have been attempting to move out of my place for almost a week now. The last thing on my to-do-list before exiting my apartment was “paint the walls.” So my partner and I agreed that I would get the paint on Wednesday after work. When it came time to paint the walls we couldn’t… Want to know why Lupies?

Because I totally FORGOT to get the paint.

image taken from http://www.buzzle.com

I find myself repeating things until I am able to write them down on a sticky note. Sad to say, but my purse has become the place holder for all of my sticky notes- I have to ensure things won’t slip my mind. In an effort to save paper and stay organized, I have purchased a calendar/agenda to write down what I have to do on a daily basis-appointments, errands, plans, etc.. it seems to be helping a little.

According to the Lupus.org web page, one should report any changes in mood, memory, or concentration to their doctor. Lupus can impact your neurological pathways, and when it does, sometimes the inflammation spreads to the brain. As a result, one is left experiencing headaches, mental problems such memory loss or poor concentration, seizures, meningitis, or even a coma.

I am sure my fellow Lupies are all aware of the term “lupus fog.” I mean, the term is almost universally known. The phrase reflects the difficulty that you may have in completing once familiar tasks. The correct term for the phrase is cognitive dysfunction or cognitive impairment, which is the inability to recall information.

It can all be extremely frustrating!

Symptoms involving the brain may come and go or be continuous, making school or work difficult or even impossible in some cases. People with both lupus and fibromyalgia are even more likely to experience cognitive problems. Lupus can be a serious disease. Years ago, it was a death sentence, but today with more knowledge and modern medical therapies, lupus patients can live a full life.

image taken from http://www.focus.biggestbrain.com

Helpful tips to help ease cognitive impairment frustrations caused by lupus:

  • Pay attention when receiving new information
  • Repeat details or write it down
  • Focus on one task at a time
  • Learn memory techniques
  • Consider using a calendar notebook to keep information in one place
2 thoughts on “Lupus And Your Brain”

Leave a Reply

