Home · What Is Lupus?

Lupus And Pregnancy Risks

Having Lupus has afforded me the opportunity to meet a diverse group of people from all walks of life. I’m especially ecstatic when I am able to meet those like myself and develop new friendships. A year ago, I met an individual that I now consider a good friend. We met though, through a mutual friend of ours.

This friend of mine has Lupus as well, and every month or so we check in with one another just to catch up and see how things are going with our lives and our illness.

Well…. after our conversation I found that she was pregnant.

In our most recent conversation she told me that not only was her doctor trying to diagnose her with another form of lupus, but he also informed her that her baby ran the risk of developing Neonatal Lupus.

My initial thought was to feel sad for her and the situation. However, the investigative journalist in me wouldn’t let me lie dormant there for too long.

Of course I had to do a little research. Here’s what I found:

Pregnancy complications and poor fetal outcomes are known to be more common among women with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE) during pregnancy. Now researchers report that the risk is also elevated among women who had subclinical SLE during pregnancy but were diagnosed within 5 years postpartum.

The researchers also found that women diagnosed with either SLE or Pre-SLE were susceptible to increased risks of:

Of course studies portrayed a higher risk for women with prevalent SLE than those diagnosed with SLE for only 0 to 2 years after their first pregnancy. There was also a lower risk for women only diagnosed with SLE for 2 to 5 years postpartum.

With that being said, I have on bid of advice, and one bid only. To my friend and all of the other women already diagnosed with SLE Lupus… STAY INFORMED! Ask your physician questions. Be on top of things. Be knowledgeable of everything taking place prior, during, and post pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

